top of page

Beethoven, Ravel, and Theodorakis with Alena Baeva, Melina Makri and the ERT Symphony Orchestra

"Tales for Heroes" | The ERT National Symphony Orchestra welcomed one of the most important soloists of her generation, the Russian violinist Alena Baeva in the demanding and wonderful Violin Concerto by Ludwig van Beethoven under the baton of conductor Zoi Tsokanou.

The Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61, was written by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1806. Its first performance was unsuccessful. In 1844 it was brought to life by the then 12-year-old violinist Joseph Joachim with the orchestra of the London Philharmonic Society under Felix Mendelssohn. From then on it became one of the best known and most regularly performed violin concertos.

The concert was held on Tuesday 16 November 2021 at the Athens Concert Hall. The performance began with Mikis Theodorakis' Adagio for flute, string orchestra and percussion, a work dedicated to the victims of the Bosnian war, a work written by the composer in 1993. The soloist on flute was Melina Makri, principal flute of the ERT National Symphony Orchestra.

This was followed by one of Maurice Ravel's most popular works, Ma Mère l'Oye, which has seen many different adaptations.


Mikis Theodorakis (1925 – 2021): Adagio for flute, string orchestra and percussion.

Maurice Ravel (1875- 1937): Ma Mère l‘ Oye

Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant

Petit Poucet

Laideronnette, impératrice des pagodes

Les entretiens de la belle et de la bête

Le jardin féerique

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, op. 61

Allegro ma non tropo – Larghetto – Rondo (Allegro)



bottom of page