top of page

Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov and Axiotis with TSSO and Daniel Lozakovish at Odeon of Herodes Atticus

On June 24, conductor Zoi Tsokanou led the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra (TSSO) and distinguished Swedish violinist Daniel Lozakovich at the Athens & Epidaurus Festival in the amazing Odeon of Herodes Atticus.

The evening featured a thrilling programme of works by Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, and Axiotis.

Daniel Lozakovich performed Tchaikovsky's masterpiece 'Violin Concerto' in D major, Op. 35, with its rare melodic richness and the fascinating constant changes of images and emotions. The 20-year-old virtuoso has enthralled audiences across the globe by virtue of his unparalleled skills and pure sound, with experts comparing him with legends of the past, such as Christian Ferras and Jascha Heifetz.


Georgios Axiotis (1875-1924)

Lyrical Intermezzo (Musicological supervision by Byron Fidetzis)

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

I. Allegro moderato II. Canzonetta (andante) III. Allegro vivacissimo

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)

Scheherazade, symphonic suite, Op. 35

I. The Sea and Sinbad's Ship II. The Kalandar Prince III. The Young Prince and the Young Princess IV. Festival at Baghdad. The Sea. The Ship Breaks against a Cliff Surmounted by a Bronze Horseman



bottom of page